Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Turkey Hunting

(Schuylkill County)

Default Turkey Hunting

I've been getting into the shooting sports over the past year or so. It seems like all my uncles and cousins hunt, but since my dad never did, I haven't either. I was thinking about getting a shotgun and trying for turkey this spring. As you can guess I have zero experience with hunting turkey or anything else. What kind of shotgun should I look for (cheaper = better for me right now) and what else would I need to start hunting turkey in Schuylkill County. Also, any locals in my area willing to give me a crash course?
    Happiness is warm gun (bang bang, shoot shoot)

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Turkey Hunting

I bought a mossberg 835 ultra for my turkey gun. Got it for 159.00 used on consignment. Gun is perfect. I got a dvd or two of turkey hunting and watch it on the outdoors channel. There are different calls you can mess with. I have a diaphragm call, striker/slate call. I messed with them for a while. My issue is now where I live there arent many turkeys around. I used to live in NH where there is more wooded area and populations are managed better.

(Schuylkill County)

What gauge is generally preferred for turkeys? 12? I'm going to be at the VF forge show next weekend and may have enough dough to be in the $200-$300 range. Is pump action or semi-auto the norm?

(Bucks County)

i have a 12 gauge pump. You should def be able to get a good turkey gun for 200-300 easily.

Quote Originally Posted by HamburgBoy84 View Post
    What gauge is generally preferred for turkeys? 12? I'm going to be at the VF forge show next weekend and may have enough dough to be in the $200-$300 range. Is pump action or semi-auto the norm?
    What is your body stucture?

I'm 6' 200lb, my 835 w/ 3 1/2 " turkey loads, pushes me back pretty good.

1 of the guys I hunt with uses a Rem 11-87, way less recoil. (semi)

(Schuylkill County)