Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default Wexford range rules-whats really done

I am a newbie who purchased a S&W featherweight 38 snubnose for protection while at my camp in the boondocks. I am scheduling NRA training and had a friend train me at private range and teach me gun safety. In meantime, I am trying to hone my skills at wexford range until I can get to gun course.

In a nutshell as I understand it, when you want to put up targets, you look at the other shooters and when it looks like a good time shout "OK to clear?" Each person then clears their gun and sets it down. You put up targets (putting up like 3-4) walk back and when everyone looks like they have changed targets you shout "range is hot OK?" When everyone looks up and nods or says yes, you fire. I will shoot one, check my target with binoculars, then shoot more, sometimes 5 at a time. I do it from target to target until I can't tell where I hit easily. If I am done shooting and others are still shooting I leave the targets up when I leave so I don't have to do a clear and interupt them. If not, I clean up the paper. I try and go when its likely not busy as I feel less intimidated.

I don't want to be unsafe (most important) or look like an idiot so let me know if I got it wrong or can do something to be more courtious.

Glade Mill Lake, Cooperstown, Pennsylvania
    (Butler County)

Default Re: Wexford range rules-whats really done

Basically yes.

When there's not a range officer you have to be observant of other people and everyone needs to work together. If you're shooting with respectful people there everyone will try to call clears often especially when new shooters arrive.

The thing I'm not crazy about there is they don't usually say "range gong hot" They use clear for both.

When were you planning on going? Shoot me a PM and we can do some shooting. I can grab my brothers snubby and some of his .38 reloads.