Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Cumberland County)

Question PIC and permit to carry

Hello everyone! I'm very new to firearm ownership and have, what might be considered, a stupid question...
    What is the difference between the backround check that is done when purchasing a firearm, and the backround check that is done to license one to carry a concealed firearm?
    I'm waiting for my permit to be approved, but can't help but wonder why it takes up to 45 days.

PS I'm glad to see that there are several ladies that post on here. My husband always says, "There's nothing sexier, than a woman with a gun!"

(Philadelphia County)

Quote Originally Posted by klpolk3
    I'm waiting for my permit to be approved, but can't help but wonder why it takes up to 45 days.
    Aahhh...

the beauty of bureocracy!!
    ==============
    “If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquillity of servitude than the animating contest of freedom, — go from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains sit lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen!”
    ~Samuel Adams

"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending too small a degree of it."
    ~Thomas Jefferson, 1791

What is the difference between the background check that is done when purchasing a firearm, and the background check that is done to license one to carry a concealed firearm?

I'm waiting for my permit to be approved, but can't help but wonder why it takes up to 45 days."
    Part one: the only stupid question is the one that was not asked before an incident happens. In guns, there are no stupid questions.

Part two: The background to buy basically searches to see if you have a criminal history that would make it potentially unsafe for the public if you had a gun at home.