Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Cumberland County)

Default cheap sig. what do you think?

hey guys,

I currently have a S/A 1911 loaded champ and a USPcompact, but I find myself really really wanting a SIG to ad to the collection.

Since my other two fulfill the every day carry needs with their 4 and 3.58 inch barrels, I think I want a full size model SIG.

I just called several local dealers and the only thing in stock right now is a SIG 226 (according to them, but I think it is really a 225/P6 because it only costs $325 and the lady didn't really sound like she knew what she was talking about).
    My question is whether or not these cheaper SIG's (i'm assuming it is older for that kind of price) are worth getting or should I wait until I can afford a NEW or CPO one? I am currently a college student so money is a factor in the overall picture, and I don't want something that will be less than desirable when it come to accuracy/reliability/etc.

Any opinions?

(Lancaster County)

Default Re: cheap sig. what do you think?

I took a class once and the guy next to me was shooting a police trade in Sig 226. He said he bought it for under four hundred. I used it for a few slow fire drills and fell in love with it so much I wound up getting a brand new one for over 700. They are out there and if you found one I'd jump on it.

(Cumberland County)

bripro, you convinced me ( not hard was is),

But, what should I look for when I check the gun out to make sure I don't get a lemon?

(Bucks County)

I picked up a P-6, for $325, off of a fellow form member. Best money I have spent on a gun. The gun is 28 yrs old and is my favorite to shoot and it carries well.