Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default "Holding" wepaons for a friend - what should I know

Have a very dear friend that is going through some messy times with his ex and the whole child custody thing ... not going to go into details but it looks like it is going to get ugly.

Anyway, he called tonight and asked if I could hold all his weapons until this mess is over. This includes long guns and a handgun.

Is there anything legally I should know or do to protect him and me?

Any help is appreciated ... he should be here within an hour with them

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: "Holding" wepaons for a friend - what should I know

so long as both of you have CCW and are residents of PA you should be fine; as far as the handgun is concerned.

and the long arms, you could always offer him $1 and a bill of sale for each one.

(Im not a lawyer, so double check my facts!)
    ==============
    “If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquillity of servitude than the animating contest of freedom, — go from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains sit lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen!”
    ~Samuel Adams

"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending too small a degree of it."
    ~Thomas Jefferson, 1791

As long as both of you have clean records you have nothing to worry about.

Furthermore, he could sell you all the long guns or give them to you which would be totally legit.

Just make sure he's not convicted of anything, keep them locked up or otherwise safe, and you're good to go.

(Jefferson County)

If this is in conjunction to a PFA, there are some special conditions that you must abide by for yours and his sake.

If not a PFA thing, the long guns aren't much of an issue. "Firearms" should be ok too so long as you have a LTCF. He can loan them to you.