Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
    (Chester County)

Exclamation Laying it out there on the "Employee Free Choice Act"

Let me preface this by saying I'm against unions. I don't hold anything union workers trying to get by and I'm not trying to flame them. Unions in my opinion are a huge drain on society. I'm a construction manager for a merit shop engineering firm. My problem with unions is the increase in cost of a project that is a result of their enourmously inflated wages, rediculous break schedules and dues. I have quoted projects for architects and have saved them at times over 20% just by going merit shop. Wheres the argument? Large companies, Universities and cities have been pressured so much by Unions that they will only allow Union work on their projects (they're afraid of the "rat", pickets and bad pr, childish on the unions part but thats another issue). Unions claim that merit shops have unfair pay scales, don't train their workers and are unsafe. Simply put this is untrue. With all the federal mandates guiding pay rates, safety compliance (osha) and the majority of merit shops do send apprentices to some sort of secondary trade school. What I'm trying to say is merit shops can do equal work (often better) at the same safety levels for cheaper prices.

If this employee free choice act gets passed it will make it infinitely easier for merit shop employees to be bullied, forced, persuaded and conned into voting to make a merit shop union. The act will do this by doing away with secret ballots which means everyone in the company will know how you voted. We all know how peer pressure can effect someone and groupthink can take over.