Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Does Montgomery County (no, Chester! see my edit)keep gun purchase records?

I recently bought a gun at large dealer, and they had me fill out a small 4x6 form, which included my name, address, and height, weight and appearance. I forget the exact name of the form, but I remember it was for the county. I asked about it, and the dealer said they keep it for their records, and will give up the info if the county requests it. Is this legal?
    Last edited by tobor; February 7th, 2009 at 02:40 AM.
    Every person is created equal and is entitled to an opinion, but not all opinions are created equal.

-Wise Man, circa early 21st century.

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Does Montgomery County keep gun purchase records?

Legal or illegal? I'm not a lawyer, so I have no credentials to make that call.

But I'm pretty good at spotting Bullshit. Sounds like some marketing ploy

where employees get attaboys for demographic information.

I purchased a handgun yesterday at a local shop in Willow Grove, Montgomery

County, no 4x6 card, just the standard forms.

Just curious, what do you fill in for "appearance"?

(Montgomery County)

Quote Originally Posted by gold cup 26 View Post
    Legal or illegal? I'm not a lawyer, so I have no credentials to make that call.

But I'm pretty good at spotting Bullshit. Sounds like some marketing ploy

where employees get attaboys for demographic information.

I purchased a handgun yesterday at a local shop in Willow Grove, Montgomery

County, no 4x6 card, just the standard forms.

Just curious, what do you fill in for "appearance"?
    I meant appearance generally, like eye color, hair color. Similar questions as the instant background check. If it was bullshit, it was pretty official looking bullshit. Dealer was in Pheonixville. Great service, nice indoor range.