Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Northampton County)

Default New to Philadelphia

Hey everyone. My name is Mike and I'm a 22 year old student at Temple University. I have never actually fired a gun but I am extremely interested in doing so. In my younger days I was obsessed with paint ball and air soft, but my friends and I have grown out of that now.

I am looking for a range close to Temple that I can get to by the subway. I would also like to take some lessons from an instructor. I eventually plan on getting a CC permit (the form is on my desk) but I want to be comfortable with using a gun first before I even consider filling it out.

I would like to try a range of different hand guns to see which one I like best. The glock is my favorite pistol just based off everything I know about it/how it looks and feels. Would I be able to do this at a range or would someone need to let me use their guns? If it's the latter, would anyone attest to meeting up and shooting with me?

Thanks in advance - this forum seems awesome - I look forward to hanging out with you guys (and gals) on here.

- Mike

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: New to Philadelphia

Welcome...I'm a TU student as well. We should go shooting some time.

Don't know about any ranges in subway distance, but I shoot at Classic Pistol in Southampton, and they rent out Glocks. I have a Beretta 92FS.

(Philadelphia County)

Welcome to the forum!

I'm pretty new here as well, and have checked out a few ranges, and must say that the BEST one in my experiences is South Philadelphia Archery and Gun Range. To get there you can hop on the Broad St Line, take that to the Ellsworth-Federal stop, then its like 3 or 4 blocks east on Ellsworth.
    SPAG/