Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ar jamming

Default ar jamming

i recently finished building my ar15 .i have shot it several times now and with 3 diff mags . it appears to be jamming sometimes when the bolt is moving forward .it will sometimes not even load the next round. sometimes starts pushing the round forward but then stops . i think it may be the mags holding too tightly on the bullets??not sure it is oiled and clean.help.

(Lancaster County)

Default Re: ar jamming

Quote Originally Posted by glock27owner View Post
    i recently finished building my ar15 .i have shot it several times now and with 3 diff mags . it appears to be jamming sometimes when the bolt is moving forward .it will sometimes not even load the next round. sometimes starts pushing the round forward but then stops . i think it may be the mags holding too tightly on the bullets??not sure it is oiled and clean.help.

I am by no means an expert, but I would ask you what you built the AR out of? An 80 percent reciever that you yourself finished? A reciever that was made by a manufacturer? Who built it? What parts kit did you use?

Are all nuts tightened down? Barrel nut? Any binding when you cycle the action with nothing in the mag well?

Have you used different ammo?

What kind of buffer recoil spring do you have? That would be the second area I would look at.

Third, you say you used three different mags. Are the different brand magazines? Try and get magazines that are milspec at the minimum. Orlites and other such esoteric type might have problems.

Keep us posted.
    He was one of God’s own prototypes—a high-powered mutant of some kind who was never even considered for mass production. He was too weird to live and too rare to die....

Quote Originally Posted by Whiskey Delta View Post