Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Bedford County)

Default Help - Reloading 45 ACP

Price of ammo is getting a little ridiculus. I am going to start reloading 45 ACP. I am new to reloading and will be using my brother-in-laws press. He reloads rifle ammo only. He has a single stage press that will be good for me to learn until I can get my own equipment.

I ordered a set of Lee dies and picked up some 230gr gold bond JHP's. My question is what is a good powder and what primers should I buy? Also, what loads would you recommend.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

(Lawrence County)

Default Re: Help - Reloading 45 ACP

There are lots of load offerrings on the net.

I usually run 4.5gr of Titegroup for practice ammo with CCI 300 primers. Titegroup is cheap and CCI primers are hard. If the gun will light CCI's it will light any other type of primer...nice to know in practice.

The important part is overall length and crimp. Almost all .45 ACP guns will run with an OAL of 1.25. It's the original hardball spec. I usually start with a dummy round loaded to 1.26 and then hand chamber, judging resitence on the feedramp. Let the slide down very slowly and try to stall the round on the ramp. I'll then reseat the round....over and over...down to 1.24. By that time, you'll find what the gun likes best. I repeat the process for different bullet styles.

Don't overcrimp. Crimp doesn't stop bullet setback in most autoloaders, the sizing die does. Crimp no deeper than .470. I find .472 is perfect for my applications....even frangibles.

And...if you ever find AMERC brass. DO NOT reload it. Hammer it flat and bury it on hallowed ground.

Lycanamercisthedevilsworkthrope

I taught Chuck Norris to bump-fire.

(Luzerne County)

I've been reloading for many years, variouos rifle & pistol calibers. I've been churning out .45acp ammo for the last few years.