Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CC Questions

(Westmoreland County)

Default CC Questions

Newbie CC questions. I have a CC permit, but have yet to carry. When CCing, I guess that some sort of loose fitting shirt is has to be worn. To get the gun out, the shirt has to be pulled up and then the the gun can cleared out of the holster. How difficult is it to get the gun out of a inside the belt type of holster? I'm thinking about getting a crossbreed holster, but have not bought it yet.

Also, what are the options if a shirt must be tucked in? Are there any for CC short of wearing a jacket over the shirt?

(Lehigh County)

Default Re: CC Questions

While Im not an old pro at this myself, I have been carrying now and had many of the same questions. Simple answer is PRACTICE.... Practice carrying (even around the house) - get used to it, practice drawing, practice everything. Know your weapon like your spouse (or better - depends on how well you know them I guess).

I considered a cross draw myself as thats what my shoulder rig is (that being a scoped Desert Eagle - not to practical for concealed carry, but a great "Hollywood" looking thing that goes boom, and accurately), and I thought that would be great for CC as well. Im in my car quite often (small sports coupe) and cross draw might be a smidge easier to break if needed, but with a little practice Im just as, if not more comfortable carrying strong side.

As for holster types, I use both IWB (jeans - casual) and a OWB speed scarab (when I have dress slacks &/or a suit on)... get used to both. With an IWB you can tuck in a shirt, but it will slow your access to the weapon - so back to practice. Also do some looking around at holsters.... there are some decent ones out there designed just for this (although mine isnt one of them - a simple Bianci, but effective for my needs