Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: AR or Mini 14

(Cambria County)

Default AR or Mini 14

Newbie here with more dumb questions to thrill your lives with.

Is there really that big of a difference in these two rifles. I know the Mini squeezed thru the last AWB. So, with what is going on again. This may end up being our choice again.

What makes the AR such a better rifle? Keep it simple. I don't understand all the minor details that you hardcore guys get into. I'm just looking for a weapon for "Just in Case" and to plink with. It isn''t going to see a ton of shooting. I just want a rifle around a the house for WTSHTF

I know there are lots more accessories for the AR, but how does reliability compare.

If I go with the KISS complex. Wouldn't a Mini 14 be a decent choice for a plinker, that can be counted on as a Defensive Weapon if the sh*t should hit the fan. I know the Magazines are hard to find. Why is that, when they are everywhere for the AR? Someone told me you could use AR magazines in a Mini 14. Any truth to this?
    The American Revolution would never have happened with gun control....
    The day they want my guns, they'll have to bring theirs!!!
    Proud to be One of the 3%

(Fulton County)

Default Re: AR or Mini 14

I have a mini 14 and 2 ARs

the mini has a thin barrel so it heats up really fast and the barrel is not chromed lined. The mini barrel is chambered for the Remington .223 bullet so you can not shoot 5.56 ammo out of a mini

With a AR you get the option of a chromed lined barrel a heavier barrel with optional twist rates. and most Ar barrels are chambered for the 5.56 round there is also a huge number of aftermarket products

but the mini cost alot less

(Bucks County)