Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Delaware County)

Default License to Carry in Delaware County...taking forever! Questions...

Wasn't sure where to post this. My apologies if it's misplaced....

Good morning,
    I'm a resident of Delaware County. I put my LTCF application in on November 25. This morning, I called for an update and was told that the Sheriff's Office may take up to three months to process the permit, apparently because the office is "behind with so many requests."

State law indicates that after 45 days, a permit must have been approved or denied.

What's the deal? I would like to be able to carry my sidearm with me but I'm rather disappointed by the service that the Sheriff's Office is providing. The permit application comes at a fee of $46 per permit and I suppose that I expected that at the cost, I might actually receive the permit in a timely manner.

Rant over. Can anyone provide me with some information about Delaware County's processing?
    Edit/Delete Message

(Delaware County)

Default Re: License to Carry...takes up to three months to process?!?!

So they say. If you placed your permit application on Nov. 25, you should expect it toward the end of January. As far as the 45 days are concerned, there attitude would be simply....Take us to court. There is no consistent waiting period throughout the 67 counties. Del. Co. generally takes 60 days.

(Centre County)

Default Re: License to Carry in Delaware County...taking forever! Questions...

You will receive a yes or no in a timely manner. in 45 days like they say. thats how long mine took.

(Centre County)

and pretty sure that it says 45 Business Days. which is about 3 months.

(Luzerne County)

Title 18 provides them with 45 days to process. Lacking language indicating business days, the courts rule this means 45 calendar days.

If they do not issue in 45 days you will need to sue them. Or wait and turn the other cheek.