Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Default Summer concealed carry?

Hi. I am new to concealed carry, even though I am a middle age guy. I was carrying concealed my .38 shrouded hammer snub revolver in a jacket pocket or IWB holster during the winter and was getting fairly comfortable either way. But now am having trouble with the warmer weather finding a good way to conceal. I know, a big, sloppy shirt worn untucked might work or ankle holster maybe. Any ideas from others on what works best for you when carrying a small revolver and not wearing a jacket?
    Thanks.
    Last edited by HiredGoon; March 27th, 2007 at 08:07 AM.

(Berks County)

Default Re: Summer concealed carry?

You could try using a pocket holster and just dropping the firearm in your pocket in the holster. I know of several people who carry smaller firearms in their pockets.
    Bill USAF 1976 - 1986, NRA Endowment, USCCA

(Chester County)

For a small revolver?

Any untucked shirt will do the trick. If you're new to concealed carry, you're still in the "everyone knows I'm carrying a gun" phase. When I first started carrying on a regular basis, I was convinced that someone could spot the fact that I was carrying a Kel-Tec P32, IWB, under a shirt, sweater, and coat.

I'm 5'10", 135 lbs. In a t-shirt I can OWB a Glock 20 and 2 spare magazines, and nobody notices a thing.

Trust, me, your gun is invisible in a decent IWB holster, even if you're wearing a baby-T (which, I hope, for the love of god, you aren't).

If you're really worried:

Get a good shoulder holster. Lou Alessi Bodyguard is the best shoulder holster ever made. Ken Null SKR is a close second. You can even tuck in your shirt if you want. To draw up just rip it up, reach under, and go to work. The SKR will work better than the Alessi if you sweat a lot, because leather isn't washable. This is my choice when I must tuck in a shirt.