Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sunset Hill...

(Monroe County)

Default Sunset Hill...

Hi, this is my first time on the forums around here. I just moved to East Stroudsburg from Colorado. I was just wondering if Sunset Hill was any good (worth the money). And also if anyone knew of any other ranges in Monroe county.
    I called Sunset Hill, and they told me I have to take some sort of safety course which costs $10-25 on top of range fees. That's kinda pricey for me.
    Any alternatives?

Thanks in advance,
    Kevin

(Berks County)

Default Re: Sunset Hill...

Best thing to do is find your local gun shop and ask about local ranges and clubs.

Most rod and gun clubs are around $25 a year for membership. Most have some type of trap, pistol and rifle range and many have a clubhouse. Some of the bigger ones have more organized activities throughout the year and fundraisers and such.
    "Disperse you Rebels! Damn you! Throw down your Arms and Disperse!" British Major Pitcairn at Lexington April 19, 1775

"Sometimes reasonable men must do unreasonable things" Marvin Heemeyer

(Luzerne County)

Sunset Hills is a place to shoot. Over on the Sig Forum we used to have shoots up there until a few years ago. Everyone had to take the "safety test" which is really easy.

You could always shoot at the free PGC range on SGL #127 outside Gouldsboro.

(Monroe County)

Go take a look at Sunset Hill - you don't have to join anything, so it wouldn't cost you that much (can't recall their fees offhand).

Their specialty is the ability to rent guns, and because of this they get a lot of traffic - many from NJ and NY. This is kept over to one side of the range, so if you bring your own stuff, you should be OK.

They have converted a few of their handgun lanes to use a pulley system - to me it's OK....something about them doesn't seem right - like they are crooked or something (I shot really bad the one time I tried them).