Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Wayne County)

Default Bullet seating question on JHP or FMJ bullets

Hi all,

Until now, I've only loaded lead RNFP or SWC bullets which have the groove to help guide seating depth. Wondering how you do that on jacketed bullets? Do I just go little by little until the OAL matches what I need?

Also - do you crimp on jacketed? I don't have seperate crimp dies but let me Lee dies do a bit of a crimp on the lead bullets and wasn't sure what to do on jacketed. I only expand the case JUST enough to get the bullet to sit there without tipping over when the cases are lined up in the tray.

thanks!

(Berks County)

Default Re: Bullet seating question on JHP or FMJ bullets

This may be the blind leading the blind as I am new to reloading. I have been using the method you described of going "little by little" until I reach the desired OAL. That is the method recommended in the booklet that came with my Hornady dies.

As for your crimping question, I will leave answering that to someone more experienced than I.

(Jefferson County)

(assuming you are referring to rimless cases) You taper crimp since you do not want a roll crimp on a semiauto rimless case. It pretty much squeezes the shit out of the case on the bullet. With autoloaders, you dont need a hard crimp. The magazine pretty much keeps the bullet from walking out of the case during recoil(what recoil there is with a auto).

On rimmed cases that headspace off the rim, a roll crimp into the knurling works. If you're using pills without knurls then a slight roll into the jacketing at the proper seating depth will hold most slugs just fine.

Even with bullets with knurling or those without, you're supposed to seat them within given OAL length specs, or to the manufacturer's given parameter.
    Last edited by knight0334; November 18th, 2008 at 10:48 PM.

(Northampton County)

Quote Originally Posted by watson524 View Post
    Hi all,