Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default .41 magnum home defense loads

I am honored that you have allowed me to post mail to this site, and I will make my message short and to the point. I have looked everywhere and can find only "full blast" magnum loads for the .41 magnum. I am a disabled american vet and can no longer even consider running away from threats in my home to my wife or myself. I own a pristine 6" mod. 57 Smith&Wesson which needs to fill two roles: as a hunting weapon it suits my needs well but the second need is for a reasonably powerful load with a lead load SWC at around 850-950 fps. We live way out in the country, so I am not particularly concerned about overpenetration, as long as I can obtain a load which is effective without deafening me, should I need it (God forbid) or causing temporary blindness if needed at night. Has anyone out there in "reloading land" tried such a load and could you please pass it on to me? I thank you in advance and pray God's blessings on you all! David Berry

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: .41 magnum home defense loads

Dave,

My LEE reloading manual lists some interesting loads for the 41 Mag that may interest you.

170 gr bullet using HP38 powder, starting load 6.7 grs @ 845 fps maxing out with 7.4 grs @ 929

170 gr bullet using HS7 powder, 13.1 grs starting load @ 1154 fps maxing out with 14.5 grs and 1269 fps.

Both loads should be lower recoil and much easier to control while still offering approx 40 S&W performance.
    Guns are good.
    If you can't fry it you shouldn't eat it
    Loud pipes save lives
    Mom spelled backwards spells....mom
    "Please don't squeeze the Charmin." ~ Mr. Whipple

(Chester County)

In addition to the loads that Holleta has mentioned, check out the loads listed at:
    http://www.handloads.org/loaddata/de...Powder&Source=

There are a few in the 900-1000 fps range w/200 gr. lead loads.

Or check out:

http://www.reloadammo.com/41loads.htm