Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Centre County)

Default Suppressor suggestions

I am looking for a suppressor I can use with 45 acp, 9mm and subsonic 300 blackout. I have a 7.62sd I mainly use for the blackout now, but I want another I can have when I take my kids shooting.

I am new to pistol suppressors and not sure what is required such as pistons etc.

Any suggestions are appreciated

(Beaver County)

Default Re: Suppressor suggestions

I have a Liberty Cosmic 45. Will suppress just about every pistol caliber available plus 223 and 6.5 Grendel. Monocore design and easy to clean. Completely happy with it
    www.Steelvalleycasting.com is your new home for coated bullets and custom ammo.

(Allegheny County)

Most .45 pistol suppressors will handle all that you asked for.

Pistons are required for most centerfire handguns, as most have a Browning tilting barrel style design. They contain the threaded portion that attach to your barrel, and thus you'll need one for each thread pitch you want to use. They give a bit of an extra rearward boost to help the pistol function more reliably with the weight of the suppressor.

Do NOT use pistons with fixed barrel guns (practically all rifles, rimfire guns, and a small number of centerfire pistols). They will cause damage. However, most designs will have fixed barrel spacers available that replace the spring of the piston and allow use on a fixed barrel gun. You may alternatively use a fixed barrel endcap instead, which saves weight.

Common threads for 9mm are 1/2x28 (most guns) and 13.5mm LH (HK, SIG, and Glock, maybe some other European brands). Common threads for .45 are 0.578" (most guns), 16mm LH (as before, HK, SIG, and Glock), and 16mm RH (HK Mark 23 only). Not sure about .300 BLK threads, I think 5/8-24?

I personally use a Rugged Obsidian .45. They perform well, have a nice warranty, and are modular (meaning you can shorten or lengthen the suppressor as you wish).

(Berks County)

Good summary.