Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Northampton County)

Default Metal Gun Carry - Rust

Hello,

I think I've been a little too OCD with my firearms, so I wanted to reach out to others in the area and get your thoughts.

Right now I have a few "metal" guns in my safe that I would like to start carrying. However, I'm a little worried about rust. My wife picks on me because even time I take out one of the guns, I wipe it down with an oily rag.

I've been carrying a G19, XD and VP9 for the last 5+ years and never really carried my metal guns. My question is. If I start carrying one of them daily, how urgent would it be to wipe it down every day? How quick does rust form? With my plastic guns, I just maintain them once a week. Would that be enough?

Thank You

(Berks County)

Default Re: Metal Gun Carry - Rust

Everyone is different when talking about their body chemistry and it’s effects on guns. You also must keep in mind the climate you are carrying in. If you sweat a lot or it’s raining or just humid as all get out, well that’s conditions that might rust a gun before the day is done.

Glocks are tennifer over stainless steel and that combo is hard to beat. Blued guns will show holster wear rather quickly. They also will rust rather quickly and you will find out if your finger prints are acidic or not.

Just your hands will eventually turn blueing into gray gun metal if you shoot it enough. If you are going to carry it, you should be shooting that much.

This brings up a few considerations. If you like safe queens, there is nothing wrong with that. Just buy a second for carry. The carry gun should be one that you don’t mind being held in an evidence locker. You don’t need thoughts of scratched guns going through your head at a time when survival should be on your mind. Besides, all those training classes should have popped the cherry on that finish.