Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
    (Lehigh County)

Default Pulled Over While Carrying... Advice from an LEO

This has been discussed in several threads before, and the general consensus was that in PA, a state which doesn't demand disclosure by law, it's perhaps best not to say anything during a traffic stop about one's LTCF and weapon.

The minority opinion recommends disclosing the information anyway, to let the officer know you're "one of the good guys".

Personally, I'm still up in the air about which way to go... but I recently saw this article in an e-mail and provide it here for your edification or amusement.

Pulled Over While Carrying...
    By J. Peters

I am a cop.
    I stop you for a violation of motor vehicle code or law.
    You have a weapon.
    You have a concealed weapons permit.

What happens now?

I am writing this article as a cop. I am and have been that armed citizen, but that is not what I want to focus on. I am writing this article as a guide to dealing with us cops. Now, everyone has a story about cops. A large majority of those stories may not be what one could describe as "the most wonderful and joyous occasion in recent memory".

Realizing that we are always judged as a group, I try not to be "one of those cops". I have a background in the Marine Corps and grew up shooting and hunting from my earliest memories. My part time job (most cops have some other gig) is working in a local gun shop selling firearms.

I do not question the armed citizen's reasons behind carrying a gun. I understand and promote the concept of an armed and educated citizenry. There are differences in how you and I carry and employ weapons and how we may be involved in a deadly force encounter, but that isn't what I want to focus on either.