Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Columbia County)

Default OCTOBER 26th is trappin season

I wonder how many people trap here on the forum. This will be my second year. any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated.( any critters)

Thanks in advance
    ZRT: SECTOR 3(SNIPER) Among othe tasks...

PRMD,just a hair south of PA at York co, Maryland

Default Re: OCTOBER 26th is trappin season

I have been trapping since 2000. EVERYTHING legal LOL! Red fox, grey fox, coon, skunk, possum, 'rat, mink, beaver, and my MD river otters. I have trapped in PA too, but otter is a no-go in PA. Haven't caught a coyote or weasel yet. MD has another furbearer that can be trapped, the fisher, but they are in the far western counties, not around me. Bobcat is closed here except if its nuisance control ( like its killing a bunch of poultry or something) and you have a MD nuisance controller lisc. Not sure what one does with it after killing it though. I guess DNR can grant you a possession permit, you can keep it, but not sell it. We had a bobcat about 15 years ago, it was killing mostly ducks, but the DNR wouldn't allow even nuisance trapping of them back then. Things have changed, there must be ALOT of bobcats in western MD now. The one we had was an odd migration. I haven't seen any sign of another since though, not in my trapping grounds anyway. I have seen coyote sign though, just a few times, and once saw a live coyote out back here, again about 15 years ago. I'd swear there are more otters around here than coyotes, but then otters are simply easier to catch!
    LOL, I am a woman...

(Columbia County)

I started last year and only got 3 possums. I found a farm to trap that has sign of coon, foxes, rats, and mink. I'm the only trapper around it.Tonight im gonna boil my traps: black walnuts, dirt, leaves, and branches.I just don't have a basket to keep them in. Not quite sure bout my skinnin though. and its a 15 mile trip to my collector.

(Columbia County)