Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Question AK's with Dragunov stock?

Disclaimer: I am new to AK's so if this is a stupid question sorry.

Can AK's with Dragunov stocks accept standard stocks and hand grips?

Like this:

to this:

Only reason I ask is that AK's with Dragunov stocks seem to be $100 - $200 cheaper than rifles with the standard furniture. Because of the price diffrence, I'm wondering if it has a special reciver that only accepts special stocks. I'm planning on getting new furniture anyway, so this is a great way to save $$$.
    If vegetarians eat vegetables, what do humanitarians eat?

(Westmoreland County)

Default Re: AK's with Dragunov stock?

That's kind of a loaded question! There are so many different receivers out there that it is almost impossible to tell what will and wont fit until you actually get to see it. The good thing is that there are a ton of places selling all kinds of adapters and devices to mount different stocks to different receivers...

Front hand grips can be just as evasive but are somewhat more common from variation to variation.

New AR15 Forum! www.AlphaRomeo15.org All AR, No Attitude!

There is a good chance it's a single stack receiver if it's that much cheaper.
    No, not billet martini glasses... Baffles.... EVIL Baffles

(Allegheny County)

Your pic is of a stamped receivered AKM - (I'd bet a Romy SAR/Cur, or whatever they were called back when they had mag-well dimples and before they became dimple-less WASRs) - so it ought to be able to take any stock and pistol grip designed for a stamped receivered AKM.

Lucky for you that several USA-made poly stock sets are available in WARPACT and NATO lengths for stamped AKMs. And there are the custom wood sets as well (for more money than I paid for any one of my WASRs).

You will need the special AK PG nut and bolt as there is no other way to attach the standard AK pistol grip once the Drag/PSL stock is removed.