Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Default Car carry for PA resident with Out of state non resident permit?

I already know I’m ineligible for a PA LCTF due to a dumb mistake several years ago with marijuana. I do own guns legally and can purchase. My question is, if I were to apply for a non resident permit from a state with more lax requirements, can I use that Permit to carry in my car? The exceptions include car carry for any legally recognized state permit, regardless of reciprocity. And a non resident ccw from another state IS a legal permit, but the non-resident part has me second guessing. Thoughts?

(Schuylkill County)

Default Re: Car carry for PA resident with Out of state non resident permit?

I believe the answer is no. After Philadelphia cracked down on PA residents using Florida permits, the whole state ended reciprocity unless you are a resident of the state the license was issued.
    I am not a lawyer.

(Carbon County)

Quote Originally Posted by Jdambrose94 View Post
    I already know I’m ineligible for a PA LCTF due to a dumb mistake several years ago with marijuana. I do own guns legally and can purchase. My question is, if I were to apply for a non resident permit from a state with more lax requirements, can I use that Permit to carry in my car? The exceptions include car carry for any legally recognized state permit, regardless of reciprocity. And a non resident ccw from another state IS a legal permit, but the non-resident part has me second guessing. Thoughts?
    prohibited is prohibited
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 ...........

The law makes no exceptions for residency. It specifically says "Any person."

§ 6106. Firearms not to be carried without a license.

(a) Offense defined.--