Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Flintlock?

(Westmoreland County)

Default Flintlock?

So i need to start this by saying that i not sure if this is the right place to post this thread so mods please move if it is necessary?

I am a huge hunter and have decided i want to start hunting in muzzleloader season and want a flintlock so i can hunt all the seasons.

I am also a college student so money is a big object i need advice on a inexpensive flintlock i have looked at the traditions one and i like them.

I have little expierence with black powder have shot some friends and once had a cap and ball revolver. but just need some suggestions for a inexpensive Flintlock? any advice?

Thanks in Advance!

Glade Mill Lake, Cooperstown, Pennsylvania
    (Butler County)

Default Re: Flintlock?

I beleive the traditions guns are reasonably priced.

Most muzzle loaders are WAY cheaper than breach loaders due to simplicity. It depends also it you want something more "traditional" or something with a synthetic stock and fiber optic sights.

Also remember there's alot of paraphanalia that goes along with muzzle loading. You'll need powder, patches, ball starter, cleaning jags, flints, and a whole bunch of little stuff you never even think of.

Also if you use traditonal black powder you'll have to clean it after shooting or you'll have rust problems. Also, remember you have to keep it clean, keep your pan dry, and keep the flint adjusted properly or it won't go bang everytime you pull the trigger.

I'm glad you want to buy a flintlock. They're really cool. It's a totally different kind of shooting though.

(Butler County)

Mine is a CVA

I don't know much about traditions flintlocks. The ones I looked at had synthetic stocks and were OK, but plasticy. They don't feel the same as wood.