Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    PickingPA Guest

Default First AR-15 Build — Recommendations?

Ok, decided to build my first AR-15. Not just my first AR build....this will be my first AR as well.

Have a family, so laying out the lump sum $ for a traditional fully assembled AR-15 purchase is not really a top priority in the family budget.

For Christmas, my sons gave me gift cards to Cabelas (yeah, yeah, I would have preferred LGS, but whatever). So I decided to kick start my build with the gift cards.

The intended purpose of this project will be range shooting & (hopefully never needed) SHTF prep. So my plan is a carbine 5.56/.223

What I am looking for is recommendations for this budget build. Like I said, I am completely new to the AR platform and new to building a gun as well.

So where do I start? Where would you start? The gift cards combine to $150. Do I NEED to start with the stripped lower plus other stuff or can I use the $150 towards a more expensive individual part, such as barrel?

Any hints or tips to help me along, or pitfalls to be aware of? Any real solid reference materials that are good for a first time builder?

Looking forward to any info that you can provide!

Thanks

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: First AR-15 Build — Recommendations?

Make sure you get the proper length gas tube(it's matched to the barrel port location)
    You could start with the optic if you wanted, the lower is the just base of your build. For budget building, nothing beats the internet for pricing. EBay even has some cheap stuff with a lot of it being listed as for airsoft to avoid there anti gun bullshit.

Oh for $25 on ebay, you can get an AR armorers wrench along with upper and lower vice blocks for building at home.