Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Legal?

(Lawrence County)

Default Legal?

New here so forgive me if this has already been discussed. I do not have a LTCF and am unable to for the next year. I was wondering if it is legal to keep my shotgun in my car indefinitely unloaded with the shells separate. Better to have something rather than nothing in case of emergency. I know I can have it in there unloaded but I can only find "if transporting to and from the range"

Thank you

(Dauphin County)

Default Re: Legal?

im no lawyer but i do believe that with out a LTCF you may only transport to and from range. Is there some sort of legal reason as to why you can not get a LTCF for a year?

(Luzerne County)

Yes, you can keep and unloaded rifle or shotgun in your vehicle as whether or not you have a LTCF has no bearing on them.

Transportation to and from the range covers “firearms” (handguns for the majority of the public).

My question is, what is preventing you from getting your LTCF? Something more than age (being under 21)?

(Lawrence County)

I'm only 20 years old lol. My main reason for wanting to keep it in my vehicle is the area I live in is not the safest area. It's the middle ground for new york and Detroit drug runners and dealers.

(Erie County)

Quote Originally Posted by Bumilicious View Post
    New here so forgive me if this has already been discussed. I do not have a LTCF and am unable to for the next year. I was wondering if it is legal to keep my shotgun in my car indefinitely unloaded with the shells separate. Better to have something rather than nothing in case of emergency. I know I can have it in there unloaded but I can only find "if transporting to and from the range"

Thank you
    From what I understand (IANAL), you can carry a loaded long gun (rifle or shotgun) openly or concealed, without a LTCF.