Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Berks County)

Default Gettysburg question

So I'm going to Gettysburg this next weekend with the family. Not my first time there but its my first time since getting my carry permit. I dont think we are going to the park area and I'm aware of those rules. But has anyone had any issues in downtown Gettysburg? Are there any places that prohibit carrying, like shops and historic buildings? We're also staying at the Inn at cemetery hill. Just trying to decide if i should leave the gun at home or if I'm ok to bring it without any issues. I want to stay legal and not worry about being allowed in certain buildings or not. Thanks in advance for any input.
    Last edited by Jake97123; November 25th, 2018 at 08:06 PM.

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Gettysburg question

I had no issues in September, with the exception you CANNOT carry inside any Federal building that is staffed. As far as in town, no problems, and if you’re not comfortable, concealed means concealed.
    Just stay out of Federal blogs, which is EVERY building in the park. I saw no metal detectors though.

Just a tourist tip here. Pay the money to take the guided bus tour. MONEY WELL SPENT! The guides are licensed and have to KNOW the information. You will miss a lot I& you don’t take the guided bus tour.

(Chester County)

Quote Originally Posted by Manxdriver View Post
    Just a tourist tip here. Pay the money to take the guided bus tour. MONEY WELL SPENT! The guides are licensed and have to KNOW the information. You will miss a lot I& you don’t take the guided bus tour.
    I read that hiring your own “certified” guide is even better*, because they sit in your car and you aren’t limited to a fixed bus route and schedule. A personal guide works on your schedule. Any experience with that?

This is on my bucket list.

*probably not inexpensive though.