Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Accurizing super blackhawk

Hi guys, looking for a gunsmith that would be good to send my super Blackhawk 5.5” 44 mag to work on accuracy. Cutting forcing cone, trigger job kind of thing. I’m new to single actions so whatever they normally do to them to enhance accuracy. I target shoot, deer, and bear hunt with the gun.
    Thanks

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Accurizing super blackhawk

Send it to Ruger. They’ll do it for free, and make the gun perfect. Did two of my Blackhawks last year. Came back, perfect lockup, timing and zero endshake.

(Lehigh County)

There are a number of things you can do yourself that will improve accuracy without the need to send it to a smith.

#1 on that list is firelapping. If you reload this is a relatively simple procedure and has always improved the accuracy of the revolvers I have used it on. It stops barrels from leading and like I said had really improved the accuracy of my guns

#2 While it will not give you a perfect trigger, if you lift one of the trigger spring legs off the post, under the grip, it will help lighten the trigger weight. Another option is a spring kit from Wolf. They offer a complete kit for the blackhawk that will reduce the trigger pull weight.

#3 A hammer and trigger shim kit is super easy to install and will help smooth up the feel of the trigger and prevent the hammer from dragging the frame and stealing energy from the primer hit.

#4 A ton of dry firing. The Ruger single action trigger will slick up with more firing. Newer guns tend to be a bit rough, however with enough shooting or dry firing they slick up pretty nice. Not as good as a custom trigger job, but pretty nice none the less.