Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Handgun Defense Inside the Home

I keep a handgun at my girlfriend's house. I own the gun. She is thinking about obtaining a CCP. Until she does, if I am not at her house and there is a break in, can she legally use my handgun to defend herself?

(Lancaster County)

Default Re: Handgun Defense Inside the Home

So you effectively loaned a handgun to someone without an LTCF?
    Rules are written in the stone,
    Break the rules and you get no bones,
    all you get is ridicule, laughter,
    and a trip to the house of pain.

(Montgomery County)

I'm not a lawyer, but I don't think there is much of a distinction between giving your gun to your girlfriend in her house or giving your gun to any girl in any house.
    How can you have any cookies if you don't drink your milk?

Firearm ownership or possession applies to whomever is in control of the firearm. Pa is stringent about handgun possession with limited exceptions. She may be prohibited.
    Do you know? She should purchase her own handgun. She won't need a LTCF to own and keep a handgun inside her home. A LTCF would alleviate the concern regardless.

(Delaware County)

I would only loan to family personally.

(Susquehanna County)

OH UH.. *getting popcorn*
    Retired US Army
    NRA Life Member, GOA, USCCA
    "Artificial intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity"

(Jefferson County)

She can legally use your gun that you stored at her house for self defense. Just remember, you only stored it there..

If you two cohabit at times, loans during the cohabitation are legal WITHIN the home without a LTCF.

18 Pa.C.S.A. § 6115
    § 6115. Loans on, or lending or giving firearms prohibited
    Currentness