Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default Electronic in-ear hearing protection

I am reserching better hearing protection. My muffs are generic but OK.. but my father's muffs have the electronic suppression so you can talk and then they cut out when you shoot. I really find that helpful. Looking online, I see that they have those for in-ear products, but I worry that they aren't going to offer the same level of protection and quality of product (being small and such). Just seems logical that muffs might offer more protection from the precussion of sound. But I don't know.. asking yinz experts.

Anyone use them? Have recommendations? Stick with muffs? If I do.. any suggestions??
    "If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy."

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Electronic in-ear hearing protection

I'm not an expert on such things, but the NRR rating is what you want to compare to see how well they protect your hearing. Higher the number the better. You'll find some muff style hearing protectors aren't that good (in the 22 NRR range) and others are much better (30 NRR). And, the same holds true for in-ear protectors, some better and some not. Do you have links to products you are considering?

I was looking at Walkers brand. They have a couple different kids. One is an ear bud that is not rechargeable. I heard they work great but eat batteries. I was looking at these:

https://ads.midwayusa.com/product/27...yABEgIuQPD_BwE

$119 and rechargeable.
    Any vote for a third party is a vote for a Democrat. You are the enemy.

(Allegheny County)