Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Franklin County)

Default shortening barrel .22/.410 over/under?

If I wanted to shorten the barrel on a .22/.410 over/under long gun, how would the result be classified? How would potentially shortening the stock as well figure into the final designation?

Also, it's my understanding that if I "discovered" such an item with barrel and stock already shortened by a previous owner, but without paperwork, that the item is contraband, and there is no way to redeem it. Is that correct?

(Northumberland County)

Default Re: shortening barrel .22/.410 over/under?

If you want to cut a combo gun's barrels to between 12" and 17.9", it is an AOW. It doesn't matter what you do with the stock.

https://www.atf.gov/firearms/firearm...arms-section-9

$200 to make yourself on a Form 1, or find an SOT 2 to register and cut it down for you and transfer it on the fancy $5 red stamp.

Seems handy for a casual backpacker gun.
    I am not a lawyer.

(Jefferson County)

The above info is correct.

If you want to shorten the combination barrels below 12" - there isn't a firm determination as to what it should be. Some folks say it should still be a AOW, some say a dual stamp SBS+SBR.

If it was never tax stamped PRIOR to manufacture(if made after 1968) - it is contraband forever.

If it was made prior to 1932 and never tax stamped up until the end of 1968(there was a grace period of sorts until 1968 to get it stamped) - it is contraband thereafter.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa.

(Franklin County)

Quote Originally Posted by knight0334 View Post
    The above info is correct.

If you want to shorten the combination barrels below 12" - there isn't a firm determination as to what it should be. Some folks say it should still be a AOW, some say a dual stamp SBS+SBR.