Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Berks County)

Default Need advice on buying hand tools. Any tool experts here?

First off, I'm fairly mechanically inexperienced/uninclined. I started riding motorcycles in the spring, and I'd really like to do as much of the routine wrenching on my bikes as possible. So far I've bolted on some accessories and done an oil change borrowing some tools from a buddy. However, I would like to be able to do most of the interval services on my own instead of letting the HD dealer rip me off. In order to do this, I'm going to need tools, and I don't know how to shop for them. I'll also be getting service manuals for my bikes, obviously.

So far, I know I'll need:

- SAE Box/open end wrenches
    - Ratchets & Extensions
    - Torque wrenches in both in/lbs and ft/lbs
    - Torx bits/drivers
    - SAE allen wrenches & socket bits
    - SAE sockets

Now, how much do I have to spend to get decent tools? I cannot see myself spending the money for Snap-On. Their prices are absolutely insane. When shopping for tools, how do I know I'm getting something that will get the job done without breaking the bank? For example, when looking at a wrench, WTF makes a snap-on 3-4 times more expensive than a lesser brand?

If any of our resident tool experts could recommend brands/stores etc for the tools listed above, I would appreciate it. Also, if any motorcycle experts notice any important tools I'm missing above, chime in there as well. I'm especially wondering how much I need to spend on the torque wrences to get decent/accurate/well built ones without spending $250 EACH for the Snap-On models.

Thanks for any tips guys,
    Dave

(Berks County)

Default Re: Need advice on buying hand tools. Any tool experts here?