Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: New Shooter

(Allegheny County)

Default New Shooter

Right, so I'm completely new to shooting. Don't own a firearm, never been hunting, totally inexperienced. Everyone's gotta start somewhere though right?

I've been wanting to get into shooting for a while now (just target practice, not quite hunting just yet) and I was curious on what you all would suggest I do to get my foot in the door. I'm not quite of pistol owning age just yet (just one more year), but that doesn't matter for rifles right?

I live 2 doors down from a sportsman club, and I guess joining would be a step in the right direction, but how are these things organized? Like what is their purpose? I guess I just don't understand them in the slightest bit.

Also, a couple of my younger friends (the kind that can't vote for a couple years) want me to take them to a range some time, and I promised them I'd find a way for them to shoot. Any suggestions on a range that will let me rent a gun and doesn't mind my younger guests?

As for a location, I'm in Cuddy, nestled right between Bridgeville and McDonald, right on the border of Wash. Co. Anything close by would be preferable.

Thanks in advance for all your help!

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: New Shooter

Quote Originally Posted by scoil44 View Post

I live 2 doors down from a sportsman club, and I guess joining would be a step in the right direction, but how are these things organized? Like what is their purpose? I guess I just don't understand them in the slightest bit.
    Welcome to the forum. Man do I envy you. I wish there was a range with in walking distance.

I would join up with the range, and maybe start with a .22. Once you get started it becomes addicting.
    troll Free. It's all in your mind.

(Mifflin County)