Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default high power rifle

this is my first year hunting with a rifle. I ve hunted with bow and shotgun. IM not sure what kinda of 30-06 round to use. I ll be hunting in kentucky.Im using rem. corelock. I heard that 30-06 overpenetrates.please help. any other ideas would be great.

(Perry County)

Default Re: high power rifle

30-06 is a great all around caliber. I know plenty of guys who swear by it. I'm also not sure about "over"-penetration. I have yet to shoot a deer where the bullet didn't exit on the other side, and that's max penetration as far as I'm concerned. I really don't think you can go wrong with the .30-06.

(Westmoreland County)

What's this over penetration you speak of? I use 7mm Rem Mag...LOL

New AR15 Forum! www.AlphaRomeo15.org All AR, No Attitude!

(Bucks County)

300 win mag here.

I never had a problem with a deer running off from over penitration.

That being said you didn't say what you are hunting.

I usually carry two different loads with me. One for distance and one for woods. I sit in different spots on the same property. I used to only carry the distance loads. I use Nosler Ballistic tips. There not to good if their close and the velocity is still high. The bullets cause a lot of damage, and tear themselves apart. I switched to a partition for the woods. Works much better, IMO.

I "feel" a lot more confident in the distance loads at long range. They are measurably more accurate than the partitions, and they retain velocity. I have hit anything at long range yet, so I can't say what kind of performance they will have.

Best thing for you to do, IMO, is to pick a load that your gun likes, and not worry too much about over penitration. With that said, don't pick a loading that was designed for varmints. 30-06 is a good round, its killed countless amounts of game accross this continent. I wouldn't worry about over penitration.

Harley