Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default asking for input on a letter i am composing to the Auditor General DePasquale

im still writting it and i havent checked for spelling or punctuation, so no grammar nazi's please.

but i would like your oppinions as to the content of the letter, and if you have any other issues that should be addressed, that i have missed. this is my personal oppinion so some may find it offensive to your own personal oppinion, i wont appoligise for that, but i would ask that you offer only constructive comments. if you feel im wrong on some point explain why please.

Sir,
    Your latest news release regarding your intention to prepare a special report on the issues with firearm related deaths concerns me.
    As a disabled retired veteran, I purposely moved to Pennsylvania due to the ease of restriction from Maryland’s laws. I was taught in the military how to safely use firearms, and that those skills once learned must be maintained to ensure safe and proper operation. However, no amount of training, practice, or familiarity, will ensure that accident’s will not happen.
    While stationed aboard the U.S.S. Yorktown, we had a firearms related injury, we were training our sailors on how to shoot properly. During the live fire portion of the training a round ricocheted off a target stand and hit one of our participants, the wound was life threatening as the individual was hit in the neck. We had the ability and the training to slow the immediate bleeding , get the individual onto a backboard and down to medical where he could be stabilized, for transport to a hospital. I offer this as proof that no amount of training will stop accidents, or they would not be called accidents.