Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    West Side of river from Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
    (Luzerne County)

Default Hornady titanium nitride 45 auto die problems

So please give me your thoughts...... except crimp separately. I know the standard line is to crimp in separate op, but at least for now I refuse to believe it can't be done.

I have limited experience reloading. 357Sig was my first and honestly it was a curve but worked out great! I loaded a thousand or so of those rounds.

I started loading 45 thinking it would be easy. I got the Hornady titanium nitride 3 die set with taper crimp/bullet setting in the same op. This is the same type of die set I used for 357Sig. I am using a rockchucker press and I measure every round.

I set up the dies and all seemed well except when I did a drop test in the barrel, they wouldn't go in all the way. I ran the crimp down 1/8 and the round dropped in more. I kept that up until in dropped in just like a factory round. The problem is that when I draw down the handle on the press, the round gets stuck. When I pull it harder the press makes a bang and the round comes out. The case mouth looks like it was slightly damaged and I can get brass shavings on my fingers when I wipe it. Hornady replaced the taper collar but it still doesn't work right. There is an odd machine pattern right where the collar and the case mouth get crimped and eventually a ring of brass will show up inside the collar.

What are your thoughts about making this work?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    With great power comes great responsibility....

(Susquehanna County)

Default Re: Hornady titanium nitride 45 auto die problems