Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Lehigh County)

Default Restaurant encounter with NJ couple. Curious ? Complaining ? Educated ?

A few hours ago; I was doing my usual Friday evening visit to Old Country Buffet. And open carrying as usual.
    During one of my several trips to the food bars. A woman asks me if she may ask me a question.
    I refrained from replying "You just did."
    Instead I replied "Sure."

I forget the exact wording of her initial question and the rest of our 1 or 2 minute conversation.
    But if amounted to her informing me that her husband noticing me carrying, began asking her if I was a cop or something, if it was legal, and her saying to her husband "Why don't we ask him ?".
    So that is basically what she asked me; "Am I a cop ?", and "Is this legal ?".
    I refrained from replying "If wasn't legal; don't you think everyone would be freaking out and the cops would have shown up by now ??".

I told here how I am not a cop, how PA is an open carry state, what that means, who can do it, where you can and can not do it, the restaurant is private property, etc ...
    Near the end of our short conversation I asked her if they were from NY. She replied "No. We're from NJ.".
    She thanked me, our conversation ended, and we went our separate ways to get food from the trough.

In the short time it took me to fill my plate. She had gone back to her table with her husband AND the manager was at their table conversing with them.
    With the husband periodically glancing my way during their conversation with the manager.
    After which within a minute or two; they had the waitress at their table and having a conversation with her.
    And again; the husband periodically glancing my way.

If it were not for them talking to the manager, then the waitress, and the husband glancing in my direction periodically.