Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Slugs

Default Slugs

I have a 12ga with a screw in choke, do I remove it to shoot slugs or just make it as open as possible?

Default Re: Slugs

Cylinder bore or as open as possible. If you can find one they make a rifled choke. Near as I cam tell out to fifty yards there is little effective difference between the fancy slugs and the old rifled slugs.
    Courage is being scared to death--but saddling up any way. John Wayne

Cylinder bore or as open as possible. If you can find one they make a rifled choke. Near as I cam tell out to fifty yards there is little effective difference between the fancy slugs and the old rifled slugs.

Cylinder bore? What's that? Open as possible meaning as tight as possible or as loose as possible? I am really new to shotguns. It's a side by side.

(Schuylkill County)

You need to leave a choke in the barrel. Try an improved cylinder choke for the slugs.

(Philadelphia County)

From the federal ammo webpage:
    Choke: Constriction in the shotgun's muzzle is referred to as choke. The level of constriction affects how wide a shot gun pattern spreads out.
    Slug: A shotgun slug is a single projectile or bullet that can be loaded in shotshells. There are two main types of slug:
    • Rifled or “Foster Slug” like the Tru-BallŽ designed for smoothbore shotguns
    • Sabot slug like Barnes ExpanderŽ designed for fully rifled barrels
    you have a smooth bore shotgun. ONLY use slugs compatible with smooth bore.

An open choke vs. tight choke refers to the diameter of the barrel at the muzzle. the amount of 'constriction'
    an open choke gives you a wider diameter(less constriction). a tight choke gives you a smaller diameter at the muzzle (more constriction).

in regards to birdshot:
    open chokes let the shot spread out quickly at close distances, while tight chokes restrict the shot from expanding as rapidly thus giving you a tighter pattern at longer distances.