Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Chester County)

Default 55 vs 62gr ammo? Difference and issues with using either?

Hi folks. I just recently bought an AR15 and I'm starting to look for ammo and I'm noticing there are different grains of ammo mostly 45/55/62. I know this is a very novice question but I live in PA and thought I might find some good info here and find others to talk about guns with. I'm not totally new to firearms by any means but haven't really been into it in a few years but my buddy convinced me to get one since he just did. I have a few rifles, shotgun, and a Glock so not total novice but I've never owned an Assault Rifle like this before so I'm just starting to learn more about it. Anyway, help would be appreciated understanding the differences and if there is anything to avoid when it comes to ammo grain. Thanks.

(Lehigh County)

Default Re: 55 vs 62gr ammo? Difference and issues with using either?

First determine what twist rate your AR Barrel is (1:7,1:9,1:12). It should be stamped on the barrel itself. Most newer rifles are 1:9 and are meant for the heavier rounds (62gr or higher) and may not shoot 55gr very well. Also don't be afraid to try different types before you buy in bulk.. some rifles like certain bullets and don't like others.

(Susquehanna County)

There is no safety issue.. just accuracy.

Question is your AR-15 a .223 CAL or 5.56?

A 5.56 can shoot either.. a .223 should ONLY shoot .223.. not 5.56
    Retired US Army
    NRA Life Member, GOA, USCCA
    "Artificial intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity"

(Lancaster County)

First and foremost, IT IS NOT AN ASSAULT RIFLE. It is similar to an M16 or M4 which are assault rifles. Your Glock isn't an assault pistol right? They are both semi-auto, and while similar firearms can be used in warfare, don't fall into the trap of calling it an "assault rifle" .