Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Wyoming County)

Default Review- Rock Island 1911A1 Tac 2011 10mm

By request, I'll do my best

*Disclaimer: I'm a newb 1911 owner. Mostly experienced with .40S&W Glocks
    Ammo count so far- 1 box of 50 180fmj (Armscor)

So I felt I better have a 10mm & maybe a 1911 (just because). Based on my price range I was narrowed down to the Glock 20 & the Rock Island assortments.

I wanted something a little different so the 1911 it was too be. I struggled between the traditional looking "Rock series" which as far as I can tell is almost identical to this "Tac Ultra" version except it doesn't have the picatinny rail, BUT it does appear to have a crowned barrel, which the tac does not. I wish I could have held both but moving on....

link to version I didn't get:http://armscor.com/firearms/rock-ser...ultra-fs-10mm/

The research I put into this purchase included reading forums and whatever YouTube reviews I could find. Sootch00 has a pretty good review on the traditional Rock version in 10mm and a couple of the mid size in .45acp. link:https://youtu.be/tqVo0wfi8Q8

The biggest complaint I kept coming across was about the 1 issued magazine. Seems to me that it is made by Mec-Gar. Anyway reports were that it would have feeding issues, drop free un-intentionally, & sometimes fail to hold open on last round. Most reviewers indicated that they purchased either a 9 round Wilson Combat, or Chip McCormick mag to eliminate problems, and have been happy thereafter. The next biggest complaint ironically was feeding issues with ammo from Armscor who makes the gun, so that was one thing I wanted to check by feeding it the same stuff.