Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Chester County)

Default Noob Question: go-nogo gauge

All,
    I am new to reloading and I'd appreciate your help. Right before I seat the bullet and crimp the case, the empty case slips easily into my Wilson Casel Length Headspace gauge. After I seat the bullet and crimp the case using my RCBS die, the finished cartridge no longer slips easily into the headspace gauge. It will slip in with a gentle push. Is that OK? I can't figure out why I'm getting a little resistance with a loaded cartridge.

Thanks so much,
    Carbine-13

(Elk County)

Default Re: Noob Question: go-nogo gauge

The bullet is likely expanding the case diameter a bit, and too much roll crimp will create a bulge that may be difficult to gauge or chamber. Did you try chambering the reloads in the firearm?

Noah
    Wisdom and knowledge shall be the stability of thy times.

(Bucks County)

What caliber and bullet are you loading?

Besides what Noah said, it's possible the bullet is not seated deep enough.

(Clarion County)

Is the case being crushed a tad when seating and crimping? I've never had it happen with straight wall cases but have done it, uh I mean heard about it, with bottleneck cases.
    It ain't what they call you, it's what you answer to.

(Chester County)

Thanks for getting back to me. I'm loading 150 gr Hornady Interlock .308" bullets in .30-06 HXP (once-fired CMP) cases. I followed the instructions that came with the die set, and the bullet is seated to just below the top of the cannelure