Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default NJ to PA for shooting, NOT carry

I get that NJ resident with FOID can come straight to a PA range and shoot, but is said person allowed to come to my house for dinner before or after? This person would be allowed to possess in my home. Not looking to carry, doesn't own a holster.

Default Re: NJ to PA for shooting, NOT carry

Quote Originally Posted by serpentine View Post
    I get that NJ resident with FOID can come straight to a PA range and shoot, but is said person allowed to come to my house for dinner before or after? This person would be allowed to possess in my home. Not looking to carry, doesn't own a holster.
    Technically no.

(Monroe County)

This person would be allowed to possess in my home.
    I don't know- I'm a firearms expert not a priest.
    Owner Trigger Time LLc 01 FFL/NFA Saylorsburg, PA. Sales/Service/Transfers/Training
    NRA CRSO/Pistol/Rifle/Shotgun inst. BSA Rifle/Shotgun Merit badge counselor. US Navy Marksmanship Team Staff

(Bucks County)

With long guns its a maybe. The question boils down to if someone from NJ has to abide by NJ lays if he leaves the state (I personally think no but others have disagreed).

With a handgun its a no. Even in a relatively free state like Pa you can not bring a firearm (handgun) to someone elses house without a LTCF.

At least that's how I interpret it. I am sure someone will chime in if I am wrong.

Nj law states that you must be going to or coming from a range/gunsmith/gun store, etc for all firearms. In pa you may have a long arm in your vehicle and drive around, provided it's unloaded and ammo in a separate container. Pistols are to and from range only without a LTCF. Going to a friend's house with a pistol in your car is technically a no-no.

(Lehigh County)

Illegitimus non carborundum est

Oh so close to the Delaware River!, New Jersey