Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default Open carry meltdown

Today was a beautiful day, so I took my 3 year old daughter to the playground near the Indian Valley Library. It's a large playground, and I've open carried there countless times with zero issues. Today I had a S&W 539 in a leather thumb break.

A woman with a ~2 year looked at me. Then I hear her loudly exclaim to her kid, "let's go, we're leaving." Kid starts crying. Then, the rant begins: "I've been coming here for 50 years and this is the first time I don't feel safe. I feel really unsafe, let's go". She stomped off with her kid.

A grandmother looked confused, and asked, 'what was that all about'? I smiled and told her it was probably my firearm. She saw it, and said, 'ooohh'. (this lady didn't make a fuss about it).

We spent about an hour there, and I waited for the police to show up. They never came. I wonder if she called the cops, and if they told her there's nothing wrong with open carry.

I almost felt bad---but then again, I did nothing wrong.

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: Open carry meltdown

Nope,you sure didn't.Why did you wait around for police to arrive,did the woman mention that she was going to call them on you?
    There are no pacts between lions and men.

Quote Originally Posted by Krichardson View Post
    Nope,you sure didn't.Why did you wait around for police to arrive,did the woman mention that she was going to call them on you?
    Poor wording on my part. I played with my daughter, *expecting* the possibiity of LEO's showing up. she did not mention calling the police, but the way things went down with her ranting, I thought it was a strong possibility.

(Philadelphia County)

Quote Originally Posted by American1776 View Post