Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Response letters you've received from reps.

Post 'em as you get 'em. Gotta get 'em all!
    I'll start with the most recent I got from cartwright. I expect more in the future as I've got at least another 5 letters out there.
    My most recent batch was a 6 paragraph, general letter that covered the 2A, various related violations of state laws by agencies and snipped at taxation.
    In general I try to keep these: short, sweet and to the point but this one i went big for.
    Mods, please move if there is a more appropriate sub forum.
    Dear *fallenleader*,

Thank you for taking the time to write to me with your thoughts on gun safety and your support for the Second Amendment. I appreciate hearing from you on this important issue and I'm glad to have the opportunity to respond.

As a Congressman I took an oath to uphold the Constitution, and as a former trial attorney I have the deepest respect for our nation's laws. The tragic shootings in Orlando, Oregon, California, Washington, D.C., Connecticut, Wisconsin, Colorado, and Ross Township, PA have kept gun safety into the spotlight and I recognize that this is a sensitive issue fraught with emotion.

Our country has a long and proud tradition of gun ownership and having owned guns myself I recognize the important role they play in our history and in the lives of many Americans today. I respect the rights of hunters and those who use guns for recreational purposes as I too enjoy shooting. I also recognize the need for individuals to protect their homes and their families. I do not seek to punish the many responsible and law-abiding gun owners but rather seek to find a balanced approach during this debate on gun safety. We must protect our Second Amendment rights while keeping our children safe.