Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

(Pike County)

Default Buying firearms in PA as a weekend/summer resident of PA

First of all, I want to mention that I am not a lawyer, and nothing I state below should be interpreted as legal advice. The only purpose of this posting is to share some results of my research and solicit comments. This is a somewhat lengthy posting. My questions (and frustrations) are stated at the end of this posting.

There seems to be a growing number of people who have vacation homes in eastern PA where they spend their weekends/summers, but who work and spend most of their time in their homes in NY or NJ. When these people are in PA, they make their PA residences their homes, thus becoming residents of PA when they are there. At the same time, it is impractical for these people to change their driver’s licenses, voter registrations, etc. to PA.

For the purposes of firearms purchases, this kind of dual state residency is recognized in the federal law - see the Code of Federal Regulations, Title 27, §478.11:

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-id....0.1.2.3.2.1.1

I copy the relevant paragraphs below:
    "...
    State of residence. The State in which an individual resides. An individual resides in a State if he or she is present in a State with the intention of making a home in that State.
    Example 2. A maintains a home in State X and a home in State Y. A resides in State X except for weekends or the summer months of the year and in State Y for the weekends or the summer months of the year. During the time that A actually resides in State X, A is a resident of State X, and during the time that A actually resides in State Y, A is a resident of State Y.
    ..."

This is also stated in Federal Firearms Regulations Reference Guide - 2014 Edition (ATF P 5300.4), Questions and Answers, B11 (Page 198):

https://www.atf.gov/firearms/docs/gu...on-atf-p-53004