Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Cambria County)

Default AR Pistol... what length barrel? Pros and cons.

I've been going back and forth on getting myself an AR pistol. Well after reading Emptymags "Gun in a box" thread, I'm back to wanting one. But alas, I stumble onto a problem. What size barrel do I get. I thought for sure I would go with a longer one. But Emptymag made some good points on why he chose the shorter barrel. While I was thinking I may want a longer barrel initially, now he has me thinking. Bu some of you mentioned that the round does't perform as well. What did you mean by this? I'm new to the AR platform, so this is where you guys come in.

What are the pros and cons of the various barrel lengths for an AR PISTOL? Would like to hear what you know, or think you know about the difference in barrels and which ones does what better. Advantage and disadvantages. You guys know the drill. Educate me.
    The American Revolution would never have happened with gun control....
    The day they want my guns, they'll have to bring theirs!!!
    Proud to be One of the 3%

(Wyoming County)

Default Re: AR Pistol... what length barrel? Pros and cons.

You could go mad digging into the ballistics

Short & sweet version- I think the .223 was designed for a 20 inch barrel, maybe it was 24" but let's say 20"

For every inch that the barrel is reduced the bullet loses velocity due to un-burnt powder escaping once the bullet leaves the barrel. Somewhere in the vicinity of 100 feet per second / inch removed maybe. Bare with me I'm winging this.

The .223/5.56 counts on it's velocity to deliver it's foot pounds of energy on target, otherwise it's basically a .22lr if the speed is reduced enough. It's basically why there is no point to making subsonic .223 ammo

I forget what I read to be the magic threshold for the .223 somehwere around 2,500 fps maybe. Hopefully somebody else can correct me.