Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lackawanna County)

Default Springfield XD mags

I have a HS2000 aka Springfield XD that came with 2 ten round mags and I was looking for "high capacity" mags that are flush fit, 15 or 16 round mags were available with the pistol if it was a LEO or military purchase but not to civvies. Anyway, I started reading and I saw it was mentioned a few times on several sites that the only difference between the 10 & 16 round mags is the stamping pattern. On the ten rounders there are channels or dimples down both sides of the mag and there are none on the 16 rounders. Can these channels be cut or hammered out to allow the full capacity? I'm a mechanic by trade so I have a metric $h1t ton of tools at my disposal including a mig welder. I know that I can just go and buy the mags but I like to tinker and I wind up with a low of free time on my hands and I'm staring at a double stack mag that's limited to 10 rounds for no reason other than that ridiculous AWB

(Lackawanna County)

Default Re: Springfield XD mags

It may work if springs are the same and you can actually get it flat so the follower moves free. Why not just buy a couple XD mags, they are usually on sale for 20ish?

(Lackawanna County)

Quote Originally Posted by titleiiredneck View Post
    It may work if springs are the same and you can actually get it flat so the follower moves free. Why not just buy a couple XD mags, they are usually on sale for 20ish?
    I probably will for carry use but like I said, I like to tinker and figured why not? I'm good with steel and fabricating & usually have free time at work so what the hell? At worst I'd lose 2 handicapped mags and best case scenario I gain 2 normal capacity mags

I have thought about it but if you compare a 10rd vs 16 the rib in the 16 tapers toward the bottom of the mag to get the rounds into the taper for the single stack feed.

(Lackawanna County)