Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (York County)

Default 80% AR build kit

So I'm wanting to do my first 80% build.

I'm relatively handy, have drill press at hand, but no machinist or metalworker.

Yes, I've 'googled' quite a bit on this and found various options, watched a bunch on youtube, but I'm a newb at this and getting input here will help greatly.

For the first go, I'd really prefer to get a 'kit' with all the essentials at once versus assembling all the parts (maybe that's next time). Don't necessarily need all the 'furniture' in the kit, but the basic components all together.

Any suggestions for kits / vendors of such? Affordability is (of course) an issue, but I'd rather pay a bit more to get not-junk. Don't need Cadillac, but don't want Yugo (the car) either. Something in a nice Chevy zone...

I'd not mind a bit having one chambered in 7.62, but 5.56 is fine (and presume more broadly available).

FWIW, I did try forum search but I couldn't find anything specific to this question. Was actually surprised by that, maybe my search skills simply lack. But I did try...

Thanks in advance for suggestions.

(Delaware County)

Default Re: 80% AR build kit

Quote Originally Posted by KCJones View Post
    So I'm wanting to do my first 80% build.

I'm relatively handy, have drill press at hand, but no machinist or metalworker.

Yes, I've 'googled' quite a bit on this and found various options, watched a bunch on youtube, but I'm a newb at this and getting input here will help greatly.

For the first go, I'd really prefer to get a 'kit' with all the essentials at once versus assembling all the parts (maybe that's next time). Don't necessarily need all the 'furniture' in the kit, but the basic components all together.

Any suggestions for kits / vendors of such? Affordability is (of course) an issue, but I'd rather pay a bit more to get not-junk. Don't need Cadillac, but don't want Yugo (the car) either. Something in a nice Chevy zone...