Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Lancaster County)

Default What do I need to reload 44 mag?? Total relaoading newbie here.

I was wondering what the most basic of supplies I need to reload 44 mag would be. I'm talking even if Id be moving at a snails pace. I need something gun related to keep me busy on the upcoming cold weekends where outdoor range trips will be sparse. I already have casings but that's as far as I've gotten. I'm sure similar threads have been started but my phone and the search function don't get along. Thanks in advance, Brian
    DDG-8 "Sine Timore"

(Centre County)

Default Re: What do I need to reload 44 mag?? Total relaoading newbie here.

First get one or more reloading manuals. "The ABC's of Reloading" is a good one that explains the who, what, where, when, how's of reloading. then you can go to a bullet manufacturer manual. Hornady, Speer, Barnes, Sierra, all are good ones. You can also download reloading data from the net.

For equipment, look at getting a basic reloading setup kit, it will have all the parts needed to get started. Hornady, Lyman, RCBS, etc. all make a starter kit, just shop around for the best price. Read the manuals for what powder and primers to get, they can vary depending on the bullet, bullet weight, and how fast you want it to go.

This will get you started. Then if you find you really like loading your own, you'll start to gather more specialized equipment to make things easier/more accurate.
    Ron USAF Ret E-8 FFL01/SOT3 NRA Benefactor Member

(Susquehanna County)