Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lehigh County)

Default Bullet Casting strictly for costs savings ?

I've been reloading for just under two years. Started early in 2015.
    And so far; I've fallen into the minority (5% ?) of reloaders for whom reloading has been a cost saver.
    By not shooting any more than before I began reloading.

I've been reloading handgun ammo of 45LC and 357MAG.
    And have been very happy with using Berry's plated bullets for both.

Recently I became the owner of a S&W 9mm Shield. That may become my everyday carry weapon.
    And I can foresee that causing me to shoot a lot more.
    So I considered reloading 9mm.
    Even bought the die set just in case.

Since there is not much; if any; cost savings with reloading 9mm; unless you cast your own bullets.
    I've began reading about casting.

It looks simple enough and rather fun.
    But since I won't have a permanent workbench to be used for casting.
    I'm thinking casting may be more hassle than it's worth.
    Although obtaining the knowledge, experience, and equipment; may be a worthwhile investment.

Are there many of you who got into casting strictly for cost savings; and continued casting ?

Thanks;
    --ET

Default Re: Bullet Casting strictly for costs savings ?

What components are you using that you say, "there is not much; if any; cost savings with reloading 9mm; unless you cast your own bullets". I can load a box of 9mm for as little as $5 which is half of what I see commercial 9mm on sale going for. If you have discovered the cost savings in loading .357 and 45LC, how can you not get the math to work for 9mm?

Living in Allentown you are close to one of the best suppliers I have found, T&T Reloading in Stockertown. www.tntreloading.com